Making Changes MenuMind & Consciousness MenuTalk Therapy MenuEducation & Learning MenuHealthy Relationships MenuAutism Spectrum MenuAddictions, Risk, and Recovery MenuWeight & Fitness MenuHuman Personality MenuScientific Method Menu

The Second Scale of Personality

The Inner Self / The Outer Self (urges)


The Layers of Aloneness-  2nd Scale - Inner Self - Outer Self

the 1st Scale of Personality the 3rd Scale of Personality

the Second Scale: Inner Self / Outer Self

(what kinds of urges people feel)

The second Layers of Aloneness personality scale is represented by a vertical dashed-orange line, which divides peoples’ urges into two categories.

To the left of the line are their inner urges (their primary, internal responses), and to the right of the line are their outer urges (their primary urges to act on their inner urges.)

In other words, what is written to the left of the dashed orange line are peoples’ inner urges; their Experiential Urges; their primary, internal reactions to life experiences; (inner life.) And what is written to the right of the dashed orange line are peoples’ outer urges; their Behavioral Urges; their primary, external reactions to their inner life experiences.

Please note, these things are “urges,” not actions. Thus, people can feel anything from mild interests to full fledged compulsions, but neither implies they will act on these urges.

Also, please note the direction of the red-striped arrow: It points right. This indicates that external urges (urges to act) follow internal urges (experiential urges.)

Does this order ever change?

No. However, there are times wherein the order is difficult to determine.

What difference does this order make anyway?

It determines where to start the healing process, the learning process, the forgiveness process, and so on.


With the person’s nature, not the person’s behavior.

So is there a point to reversing this focus?

Yes. Whenever people need to do “damage control” rather than healing.

character type babies